Batman Orphans #2 hits shelves 12/15/2010!!!


I realize that I haven’t made a post in over a month and a half, but I have been quite busy! So I shall make it up to you all! For the month of January, I plan to post a minimum of 4 updates a week! This will keep you in the loop about the many things going on right now!!!

About a month ago, I was contacted by a talented artist by the name of Michael Dimotta. He had been referred to me by several of my good friends at Periscope Studio. Michael was working on a comic called “Batman: Orphans #2” for DC comics. He was acting as one of the colorists and needed assistance with color flatting. I gladly agreed to help out and began my first gig on a major comic publication!

Now before all of you get too far ahead of me, color flatting is a process that is more of an assistant job, but still quite a vital part of the coloring process. For those of you who do not know about the process, it is basically a step in the coloring process of a comic page where all of the initial color decisions are made and the flat colors are laid out digitally beneath the inking and line work. It allows the colorist to then easily add highlights, shadows, and textures to the color layer without having to worry about “coloring outside the lines”

Here’s an example page from the issue as I received it:

And then after the flatting is completed:

So as you can see the process is in a way setting up the page to be colored. It is a task that requires careful attention to detail, a good understanding of color theory, and a lot of patience.Some of the pages can be quite detailed and hard to make sense of without color. Case in point, a two page spread featured in the comic was perhaps the most challenging page in the assignment:

Once it was colored, it looked like this:

Please go buy the issue! It is available for purchase here! In addition, please go check out Micheal Dimotta’s site. He is an amazing illustrator, and support his work as well! www.michaeldimotta.com.

Stay tuned everyone, I have a ton more on its way this month! Lots of exciting things!

About zachfischerart

Zach Fischer is a Concept Artist and Illustrator specialized in creating content for video games, comics, and feature films.
This entry was posted in Business. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batman Orphans #2 hits shelves 12/15/2010!!!

  1. Good stuff. More posts. We (the people) demand it!

  2. Everett says:

    Somebody in my house (not me) randomly purchased this issue and left it hanging around our dining room. Flipping through it tonight, I was thinking something looked familiar about all those wonky open mouths, and then I opened up to that two-page spread. That’s when I remembered! Zach flatted this!

Leave a Reply

