SAM-u-rai! WIP


So i realized I don’t post enough sketches. Part of that is because I don’t have terribly easy access to a scanner. Another part of the reason is that I work digitally a lot. In the process of constructing a digital image, I build up refined layers over sketch layers and eventually delete the sketches. Last night I did a lot of just digital sketching, exploring some ideas I’ve had in my mind. One that I’ve decided to take to a final stage is a drawing of one of the artists whose work inspired me to get into game design. None other than the infamous Samwise Didier, Art director for SC2 and seasoned 2D artist for Blizzard Entertainment. Samwise has been a great motivation for me to continue working at perfecting my craft. Rumor has it, he is very into asian (specifically Japanese) traditional art and culture. As that is one of my loves as well, I decided to depict him as a “Sam-u-rai”. Here’s the sketch.

As you can see, I have a lot still to work out. I have a very refined structural drawing on a slightly “grayer” layer while the darker sketchy lines were just me blocking out basic samurai armor structure over top. I plan to have his armor details reference various projects he has worked on. Also, yes, he is throwing up the horns. For two reasons. 1: That’s something I imagine him doing from every interview I’ve seen of him. 2: He draw all the cover art for one of my favorite epic metal bands, “Hammerfall” (side note here…Hammerfall is also the name of a Horde encampment in World of Warcraft), and he also is the vocalist for the “ever-increasing-in-level Elite Tauren Chieftans“; another awesome epic metal band. I shall post updates as I see fit while I develop this piece. This is just for fun. Who knows, perhaps some day Samwise himself will see it and approve 😀

Check out some of his original work as well as work from other Blizzard Artists. I hope to be one of the “Sons” some day.

About zachfischerart

Zach Fischer is a Concept Artist and Illustrator specialized in creating content for video games, comics, and feature films.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SAM-u-rai! WIP

  1. Love to see those sketches. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

