BIG GIANT update of greatness!!!


I owe you all an apology for not updating nearly as much as I would like, but when you have months as busy as I have both socially and professionally, well…things like this tend to take a backseat to turning out pages!!!

Where to begin…
Well to start with, I have been doing a lot of assisting work drawing and inking backgrounds for such talented artists as Steve Lieber and Karl Kesel. With Steve Lieber, I have been working uncredited on backgrounds for Alabaster (Dark Horse) and Superior Foes of Spiderman (Marvel), both available at most comics retailers. I also did background inking on an issue of Wolverine (Marvel) for Karl Kesel for which I was officially credited!

wolverinecover credit supfoescover

In addition to the steady stream of assisting work which has been flowing across my desk, I have been fairly busy creating other comics.

I was contracted to create a twelve page origin story comic for Heroes of the North (my second story with them!). I was responsible for pencils, inks, AND colors! The story was written by Yann Brouillette and is titled “Komodo”. In it we follow the origin of a new villain in the HoTN universe.

komodo_04_colored komodo_08_colored

komodo_10_colored komodo_11

The BIG news is that I have begun work on my creator-owned comic series with my good friend and writer, Travis Webb. Tentatively named “VIRIS“, it is a Roman science fiction story based in an alternate universe where the gods of ancient Rome were very real and exerted their influences to keep the Roman empire from collapsing. In this alternate version of history, Rome went on to colonize the entirety of the earth, violently if necessary. A tenuous peace has reigned for a decade or so with the final human war, and it has been centuries since the gods made their presence known to the world. Their existence has since faded into legend. Several gods, being bored with the peace have decided to enter into their own godly wager over who is best suited to decide the future evolutionary path for mankind. These gods begin to alter their followers into champions of their individual twisted designs to meet each other in combat. Into this perilous game enters Anah…a seemingly average young woman who has been plucked from mediocrity to represent Jupiter in the wager. Anah takes this opportunity to fulfill her own aspirations and rise above her humble upbringing. She has a lot to prove, but she is far stronger than anyone, god or human alike, could have foreseen.

I created a mini comic for Rose City Comic Con to introduce the series. The plan is to have the first issue ready to be released by the new year with additional issues following every 2-3 months for a total of six issues.

front_cover  viris_page_1 viris_page_2 viris_page_3ashcan_4&5 viris_page_6viris_page_7

With all of the comics goodness, I still had time to whip out some fun commissions and sketches at Rose City Comic Con 2013, which was a great experience all around!
Here’s a look at some of my con sketches!

rose_zatanna taki thelastofus

I can’t wait to have more to display!!! Thanks for stickin around!

About zachfischerart

Zach Fischer is a Concept Artist and Illustrator specialized in creating content for video games, comics, and feature films.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

